Alaska Breastfeeding Coalition (ABC) was formed in 1993 when a team of professionals felt there was a need to provide educational offerings to local professionals. ABC held their first meeting in March at the Dimond Mall Library. The board of director members came from a variety of fields in order to give the coalition the widest possible experience base. In March 1994, ABC had a completed set of bylaws written and approved which led to achieving our non-profit 501(c)3 status.

Our first conference was held in 1993. ABC is proud to acknowledge that we have been able to sponsor an annual conference every year for the past 23 years. The conferences have been attended by a wide variety of disciples. Many national and international- known guest speakers have been able to share their expertise. In addition to the annual breast feeding conferences, ABC has sponsored a variety of educational opportunities focusing on breastfeeding.

Currently ABC has an active board of directors and over 100 members. Our accomplishments for the past year have been establishing a website and reviewing our strategic plan. Our goal is to continue to promote breastfeeding, provide access to education, and to be an advocate for all breastfeeding moms and families.

Board of Directors

Rita Kittoe

Heather Anderson

Debbie Baird

Juanita Luna-Greene

Board Members

Solveig Johnson
Dana Kent
Ruth Hanson

Cathy Tapey
Elly Frey
Jodi Sides

Sherell Holtshouser
Jessi Norris
Terriann Shell

Linda Rose Weppner
Heidi Koslo
Joanne Spears